First "go fast" boat >

First "go fast" boat

Notices

First "go fast" boat

Old 07-17-2014, 08:50 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First "go fast" boat

Hi I am new to the powerboat scene, I just sold my 1976 Trojan f26 express and have been looking for a faster boat that I can take out on the bay. The trojan was nice but I wanted something I can go faster than 40 in... I found a 1988 SCARAB Excell 29 for sale locally. From the picks it looks like a nice boat and has a newer 496 engine. Then interior looks very clean and I was wondering if there is anything I should look for upon inspecting the boat? Also what can I expect from the boat performance wise? Is this something I can take out on the ocean and not get to beat up? I realise its not going to be the fishing vessel my trojan was but I still like to go out with some friends in light to moderate seas... Thnk you for all the advice
Old 07-17-2014, 09:43 AM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

jdouglas9 - sounds line a winner!

having purchased a used boat - it is critical that you have someone go thru the engine and outdrive with a fine tooth comb- make sure you have someone that you trust. I had an issue with engine alignment that wasn't reviewed prior to my purchase - this resulted in a new coupler - which wasn't cheap. Everything else on the engine was perfect - excellent compression, leakdown results and the outdrive looked like it came out of the box. However, the prior owner didn't think twice when he "tightened" the motor mounting bolts- thought they were loose- and thru the engine out of alignment - it doesn't take much.

all the best

3pointstar
Old 07-17-2014, 10:00 AM
Registered

yes I plan on inspecting the engine first hand, but outdrives I am going to leave up to one of my friends who has a twin engine searay with bravo drives.
Old 07-17-2014, 10:01 AM
Registered

how will this hull do in the ocean?
Old 07-17-2014, 11:40 AM
Registered

Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts