Notices

Class III or IV???

Old 01-12-2006, 02:18 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Class III or IV???

I have a 29 Fountain on the way with an aluminum trailer. How much estimated total weight am I looking at? My Titan is rated to pull 9200 lbs, so I think I'm good (I'm guess a max of 7500 to 8000). Right now I have a Class III hitch, it is setup for a Class IV. My question is do I need to spend the 300 or so dollars for a Class IV with the weight distro bars? Some people say that Class III tops out at 5000, others say 7500. I've never used a IV hitch before and it looks like to me I would have trouble finding a place on the trailer to hook up the chains from the weight distro bars. Do I have another option? Trying to be safe with a very expensive piece of hardware. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-12-2006, 02:44 PM
Registered

Default Re: Class III or IV???

Never heard anybody complain for having to heavy duty of a hitch! Also do not C many boaters use w/d set ups w/ boats. Good tongue weight and very good trailer brakes will B very important. Good luck, Wrink
Old 01-12-2006, 02:49 PM
Registered

It depends as not all class III and IV hitches are rated at the same weight. If you have surge brakes you can't use weight distribute.

I would say Class IV with an appropriate rating for non distributing for the weight your are towing.
Old 01-12-2006, 03:00 PM
Registered

I do have surge brakes. So there's a Class IV out there that looks just like my Class III, just a higher rating???
Old 01-12-2006, 03:16 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by UNSANE
I do have surge brakes. So there's a Class IV out there that looks just like my Class III, just a higher rating???

Yes, You can put your vehicle info in one of several sites and it will show your hitch options and the load ratings. www.etrailer.com has this. BTW I have not ordered from them, just used their configurator.
Old 01-12-2006, 07:11 PM
BZ
Registered

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts