Notices

Trailer security?

Old 12-15-2007, 09:29 AM
The BAD Guy
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Trailer security?

What security devices are you guys using? I got a Master lock coupler lock when not hooked to truck. Also was thinking about a boot/wheel lock for when parked at ramp area like this one http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...192157819&rd=1

Of course I use hitch lock pins. Anything else you have found?
Old 12-15-2007, 09:53 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Tony Montana
What security devices are you guys using? I got a Master lock coupler lock when not hooked to truck. Also was thinking about a boot/wheel lock for when parked at ramp area like this one http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...192157819&rd=1

Of course I use hitch lock pins. Anything else you have found?
We had our enclosed motorcycle trailer stolen with a coupler lock and a pin lock on it. There was no evidence that either had been cut off. We think they rolled it up onto a tow truck type tilt trailer or tied it to a trailer hitch/ball and just drove it far enough away to cut the locks off. At least we had taken the Harleys out or they would have been gone too. This happened in a busy apartment parking lot. I think the boot/wheel lock or even running a good quality chain/cable lock thru the wheels would help. Anything to keep them from moving it. I would keep the other locks on, too, just to make it difficult.
Old 12-15-2007, 10:00 AM
Offshoreonly Advertiser
Offshoreonly Advertiser

Received 25 Likes on 12 Posts
Default trailer locks

www.marinesecurities.com
Old 12-15-2007, 10:27 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

4 Kryptonite Fahgeddaboutit chains thru the wheels and a Trimax tongue lock. http://trimaxlocks.com/FullSize/UMAX100.htm

You'll need a torch or a abrasive cutoff saw. Or a crane.

At home it's inside.

If they want it bad enough they'll get it. Locks & chains are deterrents to amateurs and crimes of opportunity.