How much trim

Notices

How much trim

Old 05-12-2016, 10:40 PM
DBO
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much trim

Ok enuogh snickering!! On a more serious note how much trim at high speed? Let's say fresh water mabey one foot or so of chop. On the drive indicated gauge the first mark looks like about 1/4 then the second line looks to be about 1/3. I usually don't give it any more trim than that or perhaps just a touch. Chine walking scarse the **** out if me from time to time. Is this too much trim or not enough? Any thoughts or comments would be great!!
Old 05-12-2016, 11:10 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

I'm not an expert so take this with a grain of salt...

I don't believe there is a set "setting" for trim -- from my experience I play with the trim almost constantly depending on what is in front of me. Now, I'm not on the ocean nor a huge body of water - I agree that chine walking stuff likewise scares the snot out of me too - it's like you are on the edge all the time - I'm not trying to race to make a living -just have as much fun as possible on the water. I too have questioned if I'm adjusting the trim correctly when I'm in 1-3' should I try to plow thru- trim all the way in or try to ride the top of the waves and watch my life flash in front of my eyes.

I'm sure there are better people that I that can help here

come on guys we need your expertise.

3pointstar
Old 05-13-2016, 12:57 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 1,153 Likes on 491 Posts

Hopefully a Velocity owner will chime in with better knowledge of the hull in question.